Monday, February 18, 2008

SendGuard Tip: Avoid False Attachment Warnings

SendGuard 4Outlook warns you if the text of your email indicates that you meant to attach a file …. and you then tried to send the email without attaching anything to it. We recently updated SendGuard to avoid SendGuard warnings due to "original messages", signatures and disclaimers..

These changes were implemented in version 1.0.33 of SendGuard.

If you are a registered user, your existing unlock code will be picked up automatically after installation. User of the trial version will be given up to 5 extra days to test the software.

Download and install SendGuard 4Outlook Version 1.0.33
Learn more about SendGuard

False Attachment Warnings

SendGuard may display false attachment warnings if:

1. You are replying to an email and the original email has words in it that trigger the warning message. As of Version 1.033 the text of the original message will be ignored so this is no longer a problem.
2. You have words in your signature (or disclaimer) that trigger the warning message. There is now an easy way to tell SendGuard to ignore your signature or disclaimer.

How to tell SendGuard to not check Signatures and Disclaimers

Open an email which has your Signature or Disclaimer in it and copy it to the clipboard. (Select the text and press CTRL-C).

Go to your Inbox.
(On the menu) Click Addins4Outlook-SendGuard-Settings. The Settings screen will be displayed.
Click the Attachment/Subject Guard tab.
Click "Advanced Settings (Avoid false triggers of Attachment Guard)"
Tick the check box labelled "Ignore words …"
Paste the Signature/Disclaimer in the text box/field on the screen. (press CTRL-V)
Click Save.

Another Solution… the Attachment warning does not get displayed because all my emails have my vCard attached to it.

Although not very common, some users configure Outlook to automatically attach their Business Card (vCard) to all outgoing emails. As a result the warnings don't get triggered.

Here's how you can configure SendGuard to ignore your vCard i.e. not count it is an attachment.

Go to your Inbox.
(On the menu) Click Addins4Outlook-SendGuard-Settings. The Settings screen will be displayed.
Click the Attachment/Subject Guard tab.
Click "Advanced Settings (Avoid false triggers of Attachment Guard)"
Tick the check box labelled "Ignore attachments with specific names"
Enter the name of your vCard file in the space provided (e.g. name.vcf).
Click Save.

Resend an Outlook Email

Need to resend an email message.

If you are using Outlook 2007 …

Open the email from the Sent Items folder.
Click Other Actions on the Ribbon.
Click Resend this Message.

A new email will be opened up with all the details copied over from the old message. Make any changes that you want and click Send.

If you are using Outlook 2003.

Open the email from the Sent Items folder.
Click Actions on the menu.
Click Resend this Message.

Friday, February 8, 2008

Outlook Auto-Complete Tips

When you start typing an email address in Outlook, Outlook suggests email addresses for you to pick from. This is known as Auto-Complete and can be a great time saver or ...

It can also create a serious problem if you accidentally pick the wrong email address and send confidential information to the wrong person. Ross Kodner writes about a $1 Billion Email Auto-Complete disaster on his blog.

As almost all Outlook users use auto-complete daily, here are a few tips to get some control over it.

How to turn AutoComplete Off (or On)

I find Auto-Complete very handy but you may want to turn it off to avoid possible auto-complete disasters of your own.

On the menu click Tools and then click Options.
Click the E-Mail Options button.
Click the Advanced E-mail Options button.
Untick the "Suggest names while completing the To, Cc and Bcc fields" box.
Click OK ... until you are back in Outlook.

Deleting entries from the Auto-Complete list.

The other problem with Auto-Complete is that over time the list has email addresses that are no longer valid .... maybe email addresses have changed or you have simply stopped communicating with someone.

To remove an entry from the list so that it does not get suggested again:

Create a new email.
Start typing in the email address that you want to delete (so that Auto-Complete displays its list).
Use the up/down arrow keys to highlight the address that you want to delete.
Press the Delete key on the keyboard.

Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Create an Outlook Rule that warns you if you were BCCed (How to Stop Embarrassing Reply-to-Alls)

If someone BCCed you on an email, chances are they didn't want other recipients to know that you were also one of the recipients. You can protect yourself from accidental Reply-To-Alls on these emails by creating a Rule so that Outlook automatically marks any messages where you aren't in the To or CC fields. Here's how ...

These instructions are for Outlook 2007 but they more or less apply to earlier versions of Outlook too.

Go to your Inbox.

Click the Create Rule Button on the toolbar to display the Create Rule screen.

Click the Advanced Options button.

Click the Next button. The message "This rule will be applied to every message you receive." will be displayed.

Click Yes.

In Outlook 2007, tick "flag message for follow up at this time". In Outlook 2003, tick "flag message for action in a number of days".

Click "follow up at this time" to bring up the Flag Message box (Outlook 2007).

Select No Response Necessary in the Flag To list.

Select No Date in the For list.

Click OK

Click Next to go to the "Are there any exceptions? Screen

Tick "except if my name is in the To or CC" box.

Click Next

Type a name in the space provided e.g. I was BCCed.

Click Finish.

The rule will automatically be applied to all new emails. The flags on emails on which you were BCCed will serve as a gentle reminder that you should not do a Reply-to-All on them.

If you want a more bullet-proof solution, try an Outlook addon product such as SendGuard 4Outlook. SendGuard can be setup to display warning messages for all Reply-to-Alls or for only those emails on which you were BCCed.

Because the messages are displayed when you actually click the Reply-to-All button, this provides a much higher level of protection.